The Call of the Small

IMG_6588.jpg

“Savor Sister” Linda here with you today, celebrating small things.

There is a Hummingbird nest in the yard.  It is magic. The nest is small, the eggs are small. “Big” has its place in nature for sure.  But it can be overly admired.

I am in the mood these days to scale things back a bit – so it is the Call of the Small that I hear most loudly.

Small things speak in a different language.  Peer into a hummingbird nest.  Stand at the lip of a flower. Or hang out at the entrance of a bee hive. And take it all in. I feel a vast freedom as I get interested in what is in front of my nose. Other than my phone I mean.

Here are a few visuals of just some such “small” things this week. Then we’ll jump right into a fun, flourless, cookie recipe that features the tiny mighty chiltepin.

IMG_6747.JPG

To help with scale …. a dime above …

IMG_6763.jpg

… and coffee beans ….

IMG_6645 4.jpg

Standing at the lip of Mallow Flowers is always a treat for the native bee lover in me; there are two bees in this flower. Some bees even nap in Mallow flowers. Truly. Google it if you don’t believe me.

IMG_6679.jpg

… here you can see the under and over achievers in the pollen gathering tasks of a hive ….

IMG_6688.jpg

I’ll take this girl on my pollen gathering team for sure.

IMG_6681.jpg

This photo shows a different color of pollen from a differing pollen source.

Call of the Small (flourless) Cookie Recipe – featuring chiltepin

IMG_6730.JPG

Chiltepin may be tiny but they deliver a STRONG punch of heat directly to your tongue. Unlike most other chilies, these tiny wild chiles have a heat that flares hot and immediate on the tongue. It is not a subtle sensation. And the heat dies quickly.  (Most domesticated chiles run the opposite direction: the heat builds more slowly to a peak).

I remember the first time I tried one. It was a hot October day in the foot hills of the Sierra Madres, and I  was “set up” to be the butt of the chiltepin joke amongst a group of men.  A fresh, bright red chile was picked directly from the plant and handed to me.

I popped it in my mouth.  A good time was had by all as I coughed, sputtered and generally turned red. Now hardly a day goes by without me eating one. I even travel with them because I miss them. Their small size makes them super portable.

IMG_0913.JPG

It was on just such a chiltepin plant that I was “set up” ….

IMG_0822.JPG

chiltepin in various stages of drying

INGREDIENTS AND HOW TO: 

IMG_6708.JPG

I cup Sunflower Seed Butter

IMG_6712.JPG

1/3 Cup “as local as you can get it” Honey

IMG_6721.JPG

1 fresh egg – I used one turkey egg because they are known for being great in baking

1 teaspoon Vanilla

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

COMBINE ALL THE ABOVE AND MAKE SURE BATTER IS SMOOTH

ADD  chocolate chips and  3-5 ground chiltepin seeds and all.  (I also added chia seeds, pepitas, and cranberries).

IMG_6728.JPG

Bake in preheated 350 degree oven until brown. Makes about a dozen cookies. 

Let me know what small things call to you. And how you like the bite of chile in this cookie.

IMG_6725.JPG

The small unglamorous moments never get their moment in the sun – so here are the recipe tools getting washed.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Sonoran Native | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Call of the Small

  1. I love hot sweet

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

